Passing the Torch – SHM St. Louis Chapter

The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) St. Louis Chapter celebrated its last annual meeting at Pastaria in Clayton before changing hands to a new leadership team. For the past 9 years, all leadership positions of the SHM St. Louis Chapter have been led by hospitalists from the Washington University in St. Louis Division of Hospital Medicine.

The annoucement congratulating the new leadership of the Society of Hospital Medicine St. Louis Chapter was welcomed with thunderous applause and open arms. New leadership include:

  • President: Hiral Choksi, MD, SFHM (Saint Louis University)
  • Vice President: Adam Merando, MD (Saint Louis University)
  • Director of Membership Development: Keniesha Thompson, MD (Saint Louis University)
  • Secretary: Matthew Brinkmeier, MD (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Treasurer: Crystal Atwood, MD (Washington University in St. Louis)

Between 2016-2017, Dr. Crystal Atwood was co-president of the SHM St. Louis chapter. In 2018, Dr. Atwood became president of the chapter. At the meeting, she was recognized for her role in the SHM St. Louis Chapter and its chapter achievements, which included back-to-back SHM Platinum Chapter Awards for 2016 and 2017.

Dr. Crystal Atwood and Dr. Myra Rubio

Fellow colleague, Dr. Myra Rubio, SFHM, Associate Professor of Medicine, who also served as a past SHM St. Louis Chapter president and currently serves as the SHM District Chair for five states (IL, MO, NE, OK, KS), presented Dr. Atwood with a plaque commemorating her leadership role.

Hilary E.L. Reno, MD, PhD

The evening’s speaker was fellow hospitalist, Dr. Hilary Reno, PhD, whose topic was, “Management of STDs for the Hospitalist.” Presentation included details of management of inpatient syphilis scenarios, discussion of less common presentations of STDs in admitted patients, descriptions of recent changes in recommended STD treatments, and descriptions of the challenge that AMR Neisseria gonorrhoeae presents.